Author Interview – Titus Fogg by Aaron Piper

 

authorinterview

Hello bookish friends!! Today, I have a fun author interview. Many thanks to Aaron Piper for taking the time to answer my questions. Hope you enjoy reading!!!

divider3

titusfogg

aboutbook

Independently Published: July 25th 2018

Genre(s): Fantasy

Pages: Paperback 452 and Kindle Edition 328

purchaselinks

AMAZONBARNES & NOBLEKOBO – IBOOKS

synopsis

Titus Fogg hates magic, and with good reason. Born into a murderous family of cruel and powerful casters in modern Massachusetts, magic has contributed to every bad thing that has happened to him since birth. After finally managing to banish the most likely evil (but definitely dirty-minded) entity called Shade from his body to the sidelines as his shadow, Titus has the chance to have a normal, magic free, high school life. But, when Tess Roe, his classmate, neighbor and model of justice at their school realizes she can see the creatures Titus calls the Wyrd too, Titus must return to the world of the strange to help her. Soon Titus’s dark past comes to light as he must prove that he isn’t responsible for the death of one of Tess’s friends, and the theft of a magical book that could lead to the destruction of Arkham.

addongoodreads2

divider4

What was your inspiration for Titus Fogg?

Short version; Draco Malfoy from Harry Potter. Longer more accurate version; I actually got the idea by combining several ideas. The first influencer would probably be Rick Rhordian (Percy Jackson, others). His idea for books is to add old myth and gods to kids stories. I wondered what would happen if you did that with folklore, and strange creatures, but I didn’t like the idea of the noble hero that does everything fearlessly because he’s “the chosen one,” so I thought of Draco Malfoy.  He is not the chosen one, but he still has to be there the entire time because he has his part to play, but he is afraid, excited, proud, ashamed, all because he doesn’t have a prophecy protecting him.

Describe this book in 3 words.

Haha – Magical math magicians

What is your favorite part about being a writer?

Getting to hear people’s version of my world.  Listening to people talk about how they experienced the scenes or how they saw things happening.

Do you have any must haves when you’re writing?
Coffee, music…

Does any of your personality ever go into any of the characters?

Here and there, but not intentionally. I like logical conclusions, and have a off-kilter sense of humor with lots of sarcasm and sass.

Which author(s) have inspired your writing?

Lloyd Alexander, he wrote a magical coming of age story long before Rowling and his was magical, sad, real, and life altering.

Favorite snack while writing.

Gummy Bears

If there was a zombie apocalypse and you can choose 3 of your books to take with you which would you chose?

Hitch Hikers Guide to the Galaxy, World War Z, Fight Club.

If you were a superhero, what would your name be and what power would you have?

Be able to recreate any action I could see done once; Call me Monkey See (because if Monkey See then Monkey can do)

What advice do you have for writers in terms of dealing with favourable and/or unfavourable reviews of their published work?

I have a bit different view of it since I’m published in a daily variety through newsprint, but I apply the same rules. You learn more from mistakes than successes, and people have to be able to tell you what they think you did wrong. You have this urge to defend your work like it’s a baby, but like a baby bird sometimes it’s gotta be kicked out to fly or fall on its own. You learn from it and wish it the best but you won’t always be around to argue every point to every person.

If you could change one thing about our world what would it be and why?

I don’t know, I mean isn’t that what writers try to do in their books? We write about the things we image would happen if we changed something, even if its something small.

Any advice for aspiring writers?

Write. It’s gonna suck, they’re be people who don’t like it, but you’ll get better, step by step, piece by piece until it gets to a place where you can use writing to tell about the world.

divider4

abouttheauthor

aaronpiper.jpg

Aaron Piper grew up in farmlands of Ohio, reading anything he could get his hands on, in lieu of normal social interaction. When he complained one too many times about books he didn’t like, someone finally told him, “If you think you can do better, why don’t you write a book?” Many years and a minor in English from Ohio University later, he finished his first novel, Titus Fogg.  Currently, he lives in southern Indiana with his wife and daughter and have worked as a photographer and journalist for more than ten years.

authorlinks

WebsiteFacebookTwitter

 

divider3

Don’t forget to add this book on your TBR! And if you’ve already read it, let me know what you think.

As always, thanks for stopping by and have a wonderful day lovelies!!!

 

cropped-sincerelykjologo.png

Book Spotlight – Ember Burning (Trinity Forest Series) by Jennifer Alsever

bookspotlight

Hello my fellow bookish lovers and welcome to my Book Spotlight for Ember Burning by Jennifer Alsever. 

divider3

 

emberburning

aboutbook

Published: My 6, 2017 by Sawatch Press

Genre(s): Young Adult, Fantasy, Paranormal

Paperback Format: 348 Pages

purchaselinks

AMAZONBARNES & NOBLEINDIEBOUNDBOOK DEPOSITORY

divider4synopsis

Senior year was supposed to be great–that’s what Ember’s friend Maddie promised at the beginning of the year. Instead, Ember TrouvE spends the year drifting in and out of life like a ghost, haunted by her parents’ recent, tragic death.

At home, she pores over her secret obsession: pictures of missing kids– from newspaper articles, from grocery store flyers– that she’s glued inside a spiral notebook. Like her, the people are lost. Like her, she discovers, they had been looking for a way to numb their pain when they disappeared.

When Ember finds herself in Trinity Forest one day, a place locals stay away from at all costs, she befriends a group of teenagers who are out camping. Hanging out with them in the forest tainted with urban legends of witchcraft and strange disappearances, she has more fun than she can remember having. But something isn’t right.

The candy-covered wickedness she finds in Trinity proves to be a great escape, until she discovers she can never go home. Will Ember confront the truth behind her parents’ death, or stay blissfully numb and lose herself to the forest forever?

addongoodreads2

divider4

seriessynopsis

When Ember Trouvé first ventures into Trinity Forest, she goes looking for escape. What she finds there is something much more dangerous than even the urban legends could have predicted. Once inside, the forest’s candy-coated wickedness draws her in like spider’s web, promising a new, exciting life…with just a few fatal strings attached.

What Ember chooses next will challenge her very notion of reality. In a series of events that will turn her and her friends’ lives upside down, Ember travels through the looking glass into a world of fame, wealth, and deadly vengeance. She will have to fight like hell to reclaim a life she once wished away in order to save the boy she loves and the family she only now realizes she’s always had.

Follow Ember’s journey in the haunting, acclaimed Trinity Forest trilogy (Ember Burning, Oshun Rising, and Venus Shining) and enter into a world a breath away from our own, filled with witchcraft, deception, and romance. Perfect for fans of Lauren Oliver’s Delirium trilogy and Scott Westerfeld’s Uglies series.

divider4

praiseforember
GOLD MEDALIST

2018 INDEPENDENT PUBLISHER BOOK AWARDS  

Best Young Adult Fiction E-Book

GOLD MEDALIST

2018 MOONBEAM BOOK AWARDS

Best Young Adult Horror/Mystery

QUARTER-FINALIST FOR PUBLISHERS WEEKLY 2017 BOOKLIFE PRIZE

“Excellently plotted, flows well and beautifully written.”
–Publishers Weekly

divider4

 
oshunrisingtitle
oshunrising

OSHUN has everything a young pop star could ever want—fame, fortune, and beauty to spare. But there’s something dark inside of her, rising like the tide, fighting to be heard. Something that terrifies her. Because once she lets it out, she knows there’s no going back.

EMBER is drowning. Fighting for consciousness, struggling to make sense of the strange dreams she’s been having—prophecies of murder, deception, and blackmail. But once she begins to untangle them, she realizes that they might not be dreams at all…and if she doesn’t find a way to stop what she’s seeing, more people will die.

MADDIE is barely staying afloat. How can she be expected to care about school when her best friend Ember is still missing, presumed dead? So when Ember’s brother calls and tells her about his theory about a pop star who may be involved in Ember’s disappearance, she rallies him to take a road trip to check it out.

addongoodreads2buyonamazon

divider4

venusshining
venusshining

TRIUMPHANT at last, Ember has fought her way back from the evil witch’s curse and reclaimed her identity, her sense of self. Now she must stop Xintra from hurting the boy she loves, even as she uncovers the truth behind her mother’s dark, twisted past.

REJOICING in her power over the human race, Xintra is closer than ever to achieving her father’s dream—a dream she sacrificed her own life to realize. But when key members of her team defy her, she must scramble to enact her plan before obedience gives way to anarchy.

BREAKING free from the chains that once bound her to a life of wickedness, Zoe must face the past she once sought to escape in order to save the futures of those she doomed. Will she make amends with the dead in time to save the living?

addongoodreads2

buyonamazon

divider4

funextras

trinity forest.jpg

EMBER’S WORLD

TRE’S WORLD

LODIMA’S WORLD

HEAR OSHUN SING

WATCH VIDEOS

EMBER’S SPOTIFY PLAYLIST

TRE’S SPOTIFY PLAYST

OSHUN RISING SPOTIFY PLAYLIST

VENUS SHINING SPOTIFY PLAYLIST

(THE FOLLOWING CONTAINS SPOILERS FOR BOOK 1)

THE CRAZY-WOMAN NOTEBOOK

SEE INSIDE TRINITY FOREST

divider4

abouttheauthor

jenniferalsever.jpg

A teenager still lives inside author Jennifer Alsever. She spent two decades as a professional journalist, contributing to such publications as Fortune Magazine, the New York Times, Inc Magazine and the Wall Street Journal, before letting her imagination run wild in 2016. The result is Ember’s story told in the three-book Trinity Forest Series, her first published fiction work.

When not absorbed in writing, Alsever enjoys a good hike, doing some yoga, hanging with her boys, some moguls on skis, a rigorous mountain bike ride or indulging in the simple pleasures of life. Her favorites: untouched snow, frozen chocolate chips, savasina on a yoga mat and yes, bowls of pan fried brussels sprouts. Jennifer is working on her upcoming novel to be released in 2019.’

authorlinks

WEBSITETWITTERFACEBOOKINSTAGRAMGOODREADS

 

divider3

Thanks for stopping by loves! I hope you enjoyed this book spotlight for Ember Burning and add the series to your neverending TBR!

Have a wonderful day!!!

sincerelykjologo