Author Interview – Humanitarians, Visionaries, Heroes and You by Mary Feliciani

authorinterview

Hello Lovely Bookish Friends! Today, I have an interview with Mary Feliciani, the author of Humanitarians, Visionaries, Heroes and You.

divider3

resized image

aboutbook

Published: March 5th 2012 by M.F. Publishing

Genre(s): Middle Grade, Children, Inspirational

Format: Paperback, 50 pages
purchaselinks

http://www.mfpublishing.com/shop-from-home/

divider4

This book is a collection of seven inspiring mini-biographies. The author uses the voices of Mattie Stepanek, Martin Luther King Jr., Mahatma Gandhi, the Dalai Lama, Mother Teresa, Terry Fox, Craig Kielburger, and her own reflections to encourage the reader to join a growing movement towards social responsibility and global citizenship.

divider4

Does any of your personality ever go into any of your characters?

My personality definitely chooses the content that I write about or subject matter (social issues). Regarding whether my personality traits go into any of the makeup of my characters, is a good question. I role-play with characters in my head when I am writing dialogue. In order to facilitate this, I must consciously assign certain attitudes to the characters. Then the question is — what would this character say in this situation? I choose attributes that I know well and that are based on life experience. I believe that if my own character traits find their way into the story, it is on an unconscious level.

Favorite snack while writing.

I never thought of snacking while I’m writing. This must be a clever way of procrastinating. I drink coffee instead. The snack can be a reward after the writing for the day. Chocolate would be my favourite.

When did you first realize you wanted to be a writer?

It was in my first year of university. I was studying psychology and realized that I had something to say, and the best way to say it would be in writing. I didn’t necessarily want to be an author.

What is your favorite part about being a writer?

Writing is therapeutic and a good way to learn about yourself.

Which author(s) have inspired your writing?

Martin Luther King Jr., though not an author per se, wrote a famous and inspiring speech, I Have a Dream. If a picture can say 1000 words, then a speech can write a 1000 books.

If you were not writing books, what would you be doing for a living?

I was an elementary schoolteacher for many years. I would want to be a psychologist, otherwise.

If you could change one thing about our world, what would it be and why?

I try to make a difference in the world through my writing. Humanitarians and their causes have always been important to me. My book, Humanitarians, Visionaries, Heroes, and You, deals with peace and universal values. Two of my other books deal with bullying in the school environment, Big and Small in the Mirror, and The Invisible Boy. I believe that people, particularly children, can      benefit from having good role models and that bullying is still a prevailing issue for young people.

What shows are you currently watching/binging?

I have been hooked on Netflix for a year now. My favourite genre in books, movies and television is mystery. I like cozy mysteries and psychological thrillers the best. Needless to say, I watched all the British mysteries first, such as Agatha Christie’s Poirot, Midsomer Murders, Ms.Fisher’s Murder Mysteries, Death in Paradise, and Father Brown. After exhausting the genre, I watched some American series like Scandal, How to Get Away with Murder, and Grace and Frankie. I’m currently not watching TV much. I am looking for my next good series. Any ideas?

divider4
abouttheauthor
maryf.jpg
Mary Feliciani is a Canadian author, independent publisher and an elementary school teacher. She attended UTM where she studied psychology and still lives in Mississauga, Ontario. Mary’s background in psychology, work with children and passionate interest in the human condition, which stems back as far as she can remember, are all evident in her writing.
authorlinks
Author’s Page on Amazon
amazon.com/author/maryfelicianiWebsite: mfpublishing.com

Author’s Goodreads Page

divider3
As always, thank you for stopping by. Hope you enjoyed reading this author interview.
Have a lovely day!!!
sincerelykjologo

Book Spotlight – Ember Burning (Trinity Forest Series) by Jennifer Alsever

bookspotlight

Hello my fellow bookish lovers and welcome to my Book Spotlight for Ember Burning by Jennifer Alsever. 

divider3

 

emberburning

aboutbook

Published: My 6, 2017 by Sawatch Press

Genre(s): Young Adult, Fantasy, Paranormal

Paperback Format: 348 Pages

purchaselinks

AMAZONBARNES & NOBLEINDIEBOUNDBOOK DEPOSITORY

divider4synopsis

Senior year was supposed to be great–that’s what Ember’s friend Maddie promised at the beginning of the year. Instead, Ember TrouvE spends the year drifting in and out of life like a ghost, haunted by her parents’ recent, tragic death.

At home, she pores over her secret obsession: pictures of missing kids– from newspaper articles, from grocery store flyers– that she’s glued inside a spiral notebook. Like her, the people are lost. Like her, she discovers, they had been looking for a way to numb their pain when they disappeared.

When Ember finds herself in Trinity Forest one day, a place locals stay away from at all costs, she befriends a group of teenagers who are out camping. Hanging out with them in the forest tainted with urban legends of witchcraft and strange disappearances, she has more fun than she can remember having. But something isn’t right.

The candy-covered wickedness she finds in Trinity proves to be a great escape, until she discovers she can never go home. Will Ember confront the truth behind her parents’ death, or stay blissfully numb and lose herself to the forest forever?

addongoodreads2

divider4

seriessynopsis

When Ember Trouvé first ventures into Trinity Forest, she goes looking for escape. What she finds there is something much more dangerous than even the urban legends could have predicted. Once inside, the forest’s candy-coated wickedness draws her in like spider’s web, promising a new, exciting life…with just a few fatal strings attached.

What Ember chooses next will challenge her very notion of reality. In a series of events that will turn her and her friends’ lives upside down, Ember travels through the looking glass into a world of fame, wealth, and deadly vengeance. She will have to fight like hell to reclaim a life she once wished away in order to save the boy she loves and the family she only now realizes she’s always had.

Follow Ember’s journey in the haunting, acclaimed Trinity Forest trilogy (Ember Burning, Oshun Rising, and Venus Shining) and enter into a world a breath away from our own, filled with witchcraft, deception, and romance. Perfect for fans of Lauren Oliver’s Delirium trilogy and Scott Westerfeld’s Uglies series.

divider4

praiseforember
GOLD MEDALIST

2018 INDEPENDENT PUBLISHER BOOK AWARDS  

Best Young Adult Fiction E-Book

GOLD MEDALIST

2018 MOONBEAM BOOK AWARDS

Best Young Adult Horror/Mystery

QUARTER-FINALIST FOR PUBLISHERS WEEKLY 2017 BOOKLIFE PRIZE

“Excellently plotted, flows well and beautifully written.”
–Publishers Weekly

divider4

 
oshunrisingtitle
oshunrising

OSHUN has everything a young pop star could ever want—fame, fortune, and beauty to spare. But there’s something dark inside of her, rising like the tide, fighting to be heard. Something that terrifies her. Because once she lets it out, she knows there’s no going back.

EMBER is drowning. Fighting for consciousness, struggling to make sense of the strange dreams she’s been having—prophecies of murder, deception, and blackmail. But once she begins to untangle them, she realizes that they might not be dreams at all…and if she doesn’t find a way to stop what she’s seeing, more people will die.

MADDIE is barely staying afloat. How can she be expected to care about school when her best friend Ember is still missing, presumed dead? So when Ember’s brother calls and tells her about his theory about a pop star who may be involved in Ember’s disappearance, she rallies him to take a road trip to check it out.

addongoodreads2buyonamazon

divider4

venusshining
venusshining

TRIUMPHANT at last, Ember has fought her way back from the evil witch’s curse and reclaimed her identity, her sense of self. Now she must stop Xintra from hurting the boy she loves, even as she uncovers the truth behind her mother’s dark, twisted past.

REJOICING in her power over the human race, Xintra is closer than ever to achieving her father’s dream—a dream she sacrificed her own life to realize. But when key members of her team defy her, she must scramble to enact her plan before obedience gives way to anarchy.

BREAKING free from the chains that once bound her to a life of wickedness, Zoe must face the past she once sought to escape in order to save the futures of those she doomed. Will she make amends with the dead in time to save the living?

addongoodreads2

buyonamazon

divider4

funextras

trinity forest.jpg

EMBER’S WORLD

TRE’S WORLD

LODIMA’S WORLD

HEAR OSHUN SING

WATCH VIDEOS

EMBER’S SPOTIFY PLAYLIST

TRE’S SPOTIFY PLAYST

OSHUN RISING SPOTIFY PLAYLIST

VENUS SHINING SPOTIFY PLAYLIST

(THE FOLLOWING CONTAINS SPOILERS FOR BOOK 1)

THE CRAZY-WOMAN NOTEBOOK

SEE INSIDE TRINITY FOREST

divider4

abouttheauthor

jenniferalsever.jpg

A teenager still lives inside author Jennifer Alsever. She spent two decades as a professional journalist, contributing to such publications as Fortune Magazine, the New York Times, Inc Magazine and the Wall Street Journal, before letting her imagination run wild in 2016. The result is Ember’s story told in the three-book Trinity Forest Series, her first published fiction work.

When not absorbed in writing, Alsever enjoys a good hike, doing some yoga, hanging with her boys, some moguls on skis, a rigorous mountain bike ride or indulging in the simple pleasures of life. Her favorites: untouched snow, frozen chocolate chips, savasina on a yoga mat and yes, bowls of pan fried brussels sprouts. Jennifer is working on her upcoming novel to be released in 2019.’

authorlinks

WEBSITETWITTERFACEBOOKINSTAGRAMGOODREADS

 

divider3

Thanks for stopping by loves! I hope you enjoyed this book spotlight for Ember Burning and add the series to your neverending TBR!

Have a wonderful day!!!

sincerelykjologo