Book Review – Ember Burning (Trinity Forest Series) by Jennifer Alsever

bookreview

Hello lovelies! I hope you all had a wonderful weekend. Today, I’ll be sharing my review for Ember Burning, the first book in the TRINITY FOREST SERIES by JENNIFER ALSEVER. I’ll also be sharing some of my favorite quotes from the book and there’ll be a giveaway later on this week!

divider3

 

emberburning

aboutbook

Published: My 6, 2017 by Sawatch Press

Genre(s): Young Adult, Fantasy, Paranormal

Paperback Format: 348 Pages

purchaselinks

AMAZONBARNES & NOBLEINDIEBOUNDBOOK DEPOSITORY

divider4synopsis

Senior year was supposed to be great–that’s what Ember’s friend Maddie promised at the beginning of the year. Instead, Ember TrouvE spends the year drifting in and out of life like a ghost, haunted by her parents’ recent, tragic death.

At home, she pores over her secret obsession: pictures of missing kids– from newspaper articles, from grocery store flyers– that she’s glued inside a spiral notebook. Like her, the people are lost. Like her, she discovers, they had been looking for a way to numb their pain when they disappeared.

When Ember finds herself in Trinity Forest one day, a place locals stay away from at all costs, she befriends a group of teenagers who are out camping. Hanging out with them in the forest tainted with urban legends of witchcraft and strange disappearances, she has more fun than she can remember having. But something isn’t right.

The candy-covered wickedness she finds in Trinity proves to be a great escape, until she discovers she can never go home. Will Ember confront the truth behind her parents’ death, or stay blissfully numb and lose herself to the forest forever?

addongoodreads2

divider4

mythoughts

 A Wickedly Mesmerizing, Utterly Thrilling, and Deliciously Twisted Tale  

4hearts2 (1)

A hauntingly dark, but beautifully affecting read, Ember Burning by Jennifer Alsever  had me holding my breath until the end.

This book completely consumed me and I finished it in less than 10 hours!!! It was intense, thrilling, twisted, mysterious, and quite disturbing. Actually, some parts were terrifying and/or painful to read, but the storyline was also so incredibly fascinating that I could not put the book down. The plot was well-written, fast-paced, and suspenseful. I love that I never really knew what was going on and couldn’t predict what would happen next. I went through the story as if I was Ember experiencing whatever she felt as she struggled with her own guilt and tried to figure out what was really happening to her. There’s definitely something intoxicating about Trinity Forest and with a cliffhanger like that, I absolutely can’t wait to see what happens in the next two installments.

Alsever’s spellbindingly gorgeous writing style lured me in and never let go. It was wickedly mesmerizing, utterly thrilling and deliciously twisted and I was wonderfully entertained. I enjoyed the unique world-building, the mystery behind Trinity Forest, the supernatural elements, the intriguing characters, and the romance. This book without a doubt exceeded my expectations and I cannot recommend it enough.

If you’re looking for a beautifully written and relatable story about death, pain, guilt, self-discovery, and love with a paranormal twist, then I highly suggest you add this amazing book to your TBR.

Note: There are some trigger scenes in this book, so just be aware that you could read something you may not be comfortable with.

Huge thanks to the author for sending me a copy of this book which I voluntarily agreed to review. All thoughts, opinions, and feelings are my own.

 

divider4

favoritequotes

A glimmer of sunshine pours through my personal Ember armor and into my heart. Something is happening here, and it’s like I’m waking up from a deep, deep sleep.

 

We’re all broken in some way, beat down, ready to give up. We want a second chance, and Trinity gives that to us.

The kiss sends me spinning, cartwheeling into another world. This is like an out-of-body experience. To open your heart and let someone crawl inside, write their name and take a piece of you. You carry them inside you, you take them with you, you breathe with them. This is what people talk about when they talk about love.

You can’t get so ruled by emotion that you do something you regret.

divider4

praiseforember
GOLD MEDALIST

2018 INDEPENDENT PUBLISHER BOOK AWARDS  

Best Young Adult Fiction E-Book

GOLD MEDALIST

2018 MOONBEAM BOOK AWARDS

Best Young Adult Horror/Mystery

QUARTER-FINALIST FOR PUBLISHERS WEEKLY 2017 BOOKLIFE PRIZE

“Excellently plotted, flows well and beautifully written.”
–Publishers Weekly

divider4

booksinseries

divider4

abouttheauthor

jenniferalsever.jpg

A teenager still lives inside author Jennifer Alsever. She spent two decades as a professional journalist, contributing to such publications as Fortune Magazine, the New York Times, Inc Magazine and the Wall Street Journal, before letting her imagination run wild in 2016. The result is Ember’s story told in the three-book Trinity Forest Series, her first published fiction work.

When not absorbed in writing, Alsever enjoys a good hike, doing some yoga, hanging with her boys, some moguls on skis, a rigorous mountain bike ride or indulging in the simple pleasures of life. Her favorites: untouched snow, frozen chocolate chips, savasina on a yoga mat and yes, bowls of pan fried brussels sprouts. Jennifer is working on her upcoming novel to be released in 2019.’

authorlinks

WEBSITETWITTERFACEBOOKINSTAGRAMGOODREADS

 

divider3

Thanks for stopping by loves! I hope you enjoyed reading my review for this book and be brave enough to travel into Trinity Forest. sincerelykjologo

 

Book Spotlight – Ember Burning (Trinity Forest Series) by Jennifer Alsever

bookspotlight

Hello my fellow bookish lovers and welcome to my Book Spotlight for Ember Burning by Jennifer Alsever. 

divider3

 

emberburning

aboutbook

Published: My 6, 2017 by Sawatch Press

Genre(s): Young Adult, Fantasy, Paranormal

Paperback Format: 348 Pages

purchaselinks

AMAZONBARNES & NOBLEINDIEBOUNDBOOK DEPOSITORY

divider4synopsis

Senior year was supposed to be great–that’s what Ember’s friend Maddie promised at the beginning of the year. Instead, Ember TrouvE spends the year drifting in and out of life like a ghost, haunted by her parents’ recent, tragic death.

At home, she pores over her secret obsession: pictures of missing kids– from newspaper articles, from grocery store flyers– that she’s glued inside a spiral notebook. Like her, the people are lost. Like her, she discovers, they had been looking for a way to numb their pain when they disappeared.

When Ember finds herself in Trinity Forest one day, a place locals stay away from at all costs, she befriends a group of teenagers who are out camping. Hanging out with them in the forest tainted with urban legends of witchcraft and strange disappearances, she has more fun than she can remember having. But something isn’t right.

The candy-covered wickedness she finds in Trinity proves to be a great escape, until she discovers she can never go home. Will Ember confront the truth behind her parents’ death, or stay blissfully numb and lose herself to the forest forever?

addongoodreads2

divider4

seriessynopsis

When Ember Trouvé first ventures into Trinity Forest, she goes looking for escape. What she finds there is something much more dangerous than even the urban legends could have predicted. Once inside, the forest’s candy-coated wickedness draws her in like spider’s web, promising a new, exciting life…with just a few fatal strings attached.

What Ember chooses next will challenge her very notion of reality. In a series of events that will turn her and her friends’ lives upside down, Ember travels through the looking glass into a world of fame, wealth, and deadly vengeance. She will have to fight like hell to reclaim a life she once wished away in order to save the boy she loves and the family she only now realizes she’s always had.

Follow Ember’s journey in the haunting, acclaimed Trinity Forest trilogy (Ember Burning, Oshun Rising, and Venus Shining) and enter into a world a breath away from our own, filled with witchcraft, deception, and romance. Perfect for fans of Lauren Oliver’s Delirium trilogy and Scott Westerfeld’s Uglies series.

divider4

praiseforember
GOLD MEDALIST

2018 INDEPENDENT PUBLISHER BOOK AWARDS  

Best Young Adult Fiction E-Book

GOLD MEDALIST

2018 MOONBEAM BOOK AWARDS

Best Young Adult Horror/Mystery

QUARTER-FINALIST FOR PUBLISHERS WEEKLY 2017 BOOKLIFE PRIZE

“Excellently plotted, flows well and beautifully written.”
–Publishers Weekly

divider4

 
oshunrisingtitle
oshunrising

OSHUN has everything a young pop star could ever want—fame, fortune, and beauty to spare. But there’s something dark inside of her, rising like the tide, fighting to be heard. Something that terrifies her. Because once she lets it out, she knows there’s no going back.

EMBER is drowning. Fighting for consciousness, struggling to make sense of the strange dreams she’s been having—prophecies of murder, deception, and blackmail. But once she begins to untangle them, she realizes that they might not be dreams at all…and if she doesn’t find a way to stop what she’s seeing, more people will die.

MADDIE is barely staying afloat. How can she be expected to care about school when her best friend Ember is still missing, presumed dead? So when Ember’s brother calls and tells her about his theory about a pop star who may be involved in Ember’s disappearance, she rallies him to take a road trip to check it out.

addongoodreads2buyonamazon

divider4

venusshining
venusshining

TRIUMPHANT at last, Ember has fought her way back from the evil witch’s curse and reclaimed her identity, her sense of self. Now she must stop Xintra from hurting the boy she loves, even as she uncovers the truth behind her mother’s dark, twisted past.

REJOICING in her power over the human race, Xintra is closer than ever to achieving her father’s dream—a dream she sacrificed her own life to realize. But when key members of her team defy her, she must scramble to enact her plan before obedience gives way to anarchy.

BREAKING free from the chains that once bound her to a life of wickedness, Zoe must face the past she once sought to escape in order to save the futures of those she doomed. Will she make amends with the dead in time to save the living?

addongoodreads2

buyonamazon

divider4

funextras

trinity forest.jpg

EMBER’S WORLD

TRE’S WORLD

LODIMA’S WORLD

HEAR OSHUN SING

WATCH VIDEOS

EMBER’S SPOTIFY PLAYLIST

TRE’S SPOTIFY PLAYST

OSHUN RISING SPOTIFY PLAYLIST

VENUS SHINING SPOTIFY PLAYLIST

(THE FOLLOWING CONTAINS SPOILERS FOR BOOK 1)

THE CRAZY-WOMAN NOTEBOOK

SEE INSIDE TRINITY FOREST

divider4

abouttheauthor

jenniferalsever.jpg

A teenager still lives inside author Jennifer Alsever. She spent two decades as a professional journalist, contributing to such publications as Fortune Magazine, the New York Times, Inc Magazine and the Wall Street Journal, before letting her imagination run wild in 2016. The result is Ember’s story told in the three-book Trinity Forest Series, her first published fiction work.

When not absorbed in writing, Alsever enjoys a good hike, doing some yoga, hanging with her boys, some moguls on skis, a rigorous mountain bike ride or indulging in the simple pleasures of life. Her favorites: untouched snow, frozen chocolate chips, savasina on a yoga mat and yes, bowls of pan fried brussels sprouts. Jennifer is working on her upcoming novel to be released in 2019.’

authorlinks

WEBSITETWITTERFACEBOOKINSTAGRAMGOODREADS

 

divider3

Thanks for stopping by loves! I hope you enjoyed this book spotlight for Ember Burning and add the series to your neverending TBR!

Have a wonderful day!!!

sincerelykjologo