Street Team

Berserker

(Berserker #1)

Emmy Laybourne

IMG_6603
Published by Feiwel & Friends October 10, 2017
Genre(s): Young Adult, Historical Fiction, Fantasy
Pages: Hardcover 288
Buy Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Book Depository
Are Hanne’s powers a gift from the old Norse gods, or a curse?

Her brother Stieg swears their powers are a gift from the old gods, but Hanne Hemstad knows she is truly cursed. It’s not Stieg’s fault that their father is dead, their mother has left, and their brother Knut has been accused of a crime he didn’t commit.

No, the fault lies with Hanne and her inability to control her murderous “gift”–she is a Berserker. When someone she loves is threatened, she flies into a killing state. The siblings must leave Norway for the American frontier or risk being brought to justice.

Aided by a young cowboy who agrees to be their guide, Hanne and her siblings use their powers to survive the perilous trail, where blizzards, wild animals, and vicious bounty hunters await.

Will they be able to reach their uncle, the one man Hanne believes may be able to teach her how to control her drive to kill? With Berserker, Emmy Laybourne, the author of Monument 14, presents her vision of an American west studded with Viking glory.

I haven’t read anything by Emmy Laybourne so I’m super excited to be part of the #BerserkerStreetTeam!!! This book sounds absolutely awesome and I can’t wait to get into it!

Follow / Connect with Emmy Laybourne: Wesbite / Instagram / Twitter / Facebook

Thanks for stopping by and have a wonderful day. Comment below if you’ve heard anything about this book.

Sincerely Karen Jo

Book Birthday

Happiest Book birthday to The Tiger’s Watch by Julia Ember

and Bell of Eternity by Martina Boone!

The Tiger’s Watch

(Ashes of Gold #1)

Julia Ember

IMG_6013[1]

5 ★ – MAGICAL AND THRILLING
PUBLISHED BY HARMONY INK PRESS AUGUST 22, 2017
GENRE(S): YOUNG ADULT, FANTASY, GLBT, ROMANCE
PAGES: KINDLE 180
BUY AMAZONBARNES AND NOBLE
SIXTEEN-YEAR-OLD TASHI HAS SPENT THEIR LIFE TRAINING AS A INHABITOR, A SOLDIER WHO SPIES AND KILLS USING A BONDED ANIMAL. WHEN THE CAPITAL FALLS AFTER A BRUTAL SIEGE, TASHI FLEES TO A REMOTE MONASTERY TO HIDE. BUT THE INVADING ARMY TURNS THE MONASTERY INTO A HOSPITAL, AND TASHI CATCHES THE EYE OF XIAN, THE REGIMENT’S FEARLESS YOUNG COMMANDER.
TASHI SPIES ON XIAN’S EVERY MOVE. IN FRONT OF HIS MEN, XIAN SEEMS DANGEROUS, EVEN SADISTIC, BUT TASHI DISCOVERS A MORE VULNERABLE SIDE OF THE ENEMY COMMANDER—A SIDE THAT DRAWS THEM TO XIAN.
WHEN THEIR SPYING UNVEILS THAT EVERYTHING THEY’VE BEEN TAUGHT IS A LIE, TASHI FACES AN IMPOSSIBLE CHOICE: SAVE THEIR COUNTRY OR THE BOY THEY’RE GROWING TO LOVE. THOUGH TASHI GRAPPLES WITH THEIR DECISION, THEIR VOLATILE BONDED TIGER DOESN’T QUESTION HER ALLEGIANCES. KATALA SLAUGHTERS XIAN’S SOLDIERS, LEADING THE ENEMY TO HUNT HER. BUT AN INHABITOR’S BOND TO THEIR ANIMAL IS FOR LIFE—IF KATALA DIES, SO WILL TASHI.

The Tiger’s Watch may be short (not even 200 pages), but it’s full of intrigue, magic, adventure, and mystery. I love Ember’s vivid storytelling and this wonderful world she’s created. I seriously have so much love for this book and can’t recommend it enough. If you’re looking for a quick, fun, and entertaining fantasy novel, then you absolutely have to add this on your TBR… or you know just go grab a copy right now!!! Read my full review HERE.

 

Bell of Eternity

(Celtic Legends #2)

Martina Boone

34947351

Published by Mayfair Publishing August 22, 2017
Genre(s): Romance, Magical Realism, Family
Pages: Ebook 336
Buy: Amazon
Love beyond time, an island castle in Cornwall, a cast of delightful characters, dangerous secrets, and a handsome kilt-wearing chef make the perfect recipe for new romance from the award-winning author of Compulsion and Lake of Destiny.
Emma Larsen put her life on hold after the accident that left her famous mother paralyzed and cost a man his life. For four long years, Treave Nancarrow, the deceased man’s son, has often been the only friend Emma had to lean on. But when he suddenly proposes marriage after her mother’s funeral, Emma can’t help being dismayed. She’s already trying to decide between transforming her home cooking hobby into a profession or going back to college. She can’t afford to jump from one commitment to another before she’s had a chance to find out what she really wants. Still, when Treave begs her to accompany him to a wedding at his family’s castle in Cornwall so he can show her how compatible they would be, how can she refuse?
She falls in love with the romantic Cornish coast, a world rich with legends, hauntings, and ancient superstitions—like the one about the ghostly bell that tolls only when a pair of lovers are destined to be together forever. When a tragedy rocks the small community and everyone pitches in to help, though, Treave seems like a different person—one Emma begins to fear. Then, too, there’s Brando MacLaren, the handsome, kilt-wearing Scotsman who shows her the possibility of a love she never dared believe in and makes her feel adventurous and alive. But Brando has his own healing to do. He also has a secret, one he’s keeping from her. Can Emma afford to trust him with her heart? Can she trust either one of the men? An ancient Cornish legend might help guide her choice between them—if she can find the courage to trust her instincts and believe in herself.
A timeless, modern romance set in a magical castle in Cornwall, filled with food, small town warmth, heart, and intrigue. Perfect for fans of Poldark, Nora Roberts, Susanna Kearsley, Sarah Addison Allen, Susan Wiggs, and Debbie Macomber

I’m more than halfway done and really enjoying Bell of Eternity. However, I’m not finding it as captivating as Lake of Destiny. You can read my review for that HERE. BUT, I have at least 45% left to go, so we will see. So far it’s been really good, but just not hitting all the feels just yet.

Thanks for reading and have a great day!

Sincerely Karen Jo