Book Mail

The Girl with the Red Balloon

(The Balloon Makers #1)

Katherine Locke

FullSizeRender (1)

Published by Albert Whitman Company September 1, 2017
Genre(s): Young Adult, Historical, Fantasy, Time Travel, Sci-Fi
Pages: Paperback 256
Buy Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Book Depository
When sixteen-year-old Ellie Baum accidentally time-travels via red balloon to 1988 East Berlin, she’s caught up in a conspiracy of history and magic. She meets members of an underground guild in East Berlin who use balloons and magic to help people escape over the Wall—but even to the balloon makers, Ellie’s time travel is a mystery. When it becomes clear that someone is using dark magic to change history, Ellie must risk everything—including her only way home—to stop the process.

I just love love love bookmails and giveaways! I’ve had quite the luck winning several giveaways these past few months and I’m hoping that luck never runs out. I’m actually waiting for another book I won through Goodreads and if you’re familiar with those giveways, you know how difficult it is to win one. It’s been probably been 1 year ½ since I won one, so I’m pretty excited. Anyway, just wanted to say THANKS to the publisher, Albert Whitman, for hosting this awesome giveaway on Instagram. I absolutely cannot wait to read this book – there’s time travel, conspiracy, suspense, magic and some romance. You know I can’t say no to romance. Oh and that cover is just gorgeous. I’m really hoping I can get to this before the release date.

Praise for The Girl with The Red Balloon 

“Locke’s debut is an intricately plotted historical thriller with elements of science fiction and magical realism…a sensitive exploration of the long-lasting effects of war and subjugation, especially on marginalized people. …This sophisticated, unusual work is likely to appeal to fans of World War II and Holocaust fiction, as well as those who like their history with a tinge of romance and magic.” – School Library Journal
“An absorbing blend of historical fiction, mystery, and magical realism.”
Kirkus Reviews
“The Girl with the Red Balloon is a bold, unique fantasy that manages to be both timely and timeless. Katherine Locke has powerful things to say about how the past and present shape each other and the future, and about the magic of the human spirit.” – Gwenda Bond, author of the Lois Lane series and the Girl on a Wire series.

Who loves FREE book swag? 

preordercampaign

Follow / Connect with Katherine Locke: Website / Instagram / Twitter / Facebook

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s