First Lines Fridays

unnamed

I saw a blog post by Kristi of Confessions of a YA Reader for First Lines Fridays which is hosted by Wandering Words. Such a fun idea so I thought why not!?

First Lines Fridays is a weekly feature for book lovers hosted by Wandering Words. What if instead of judging a book by its cover, its author or its prestige, we judged it by its opening lines?
  • Pick a book off your shelf (it could be your current read or on your TBR) and open to the first page
  • Copy the first few lines, but don’t give anything else about the book away just yet – you need to hook the reader first
  • Finally… reveal the book!
Copy and paste the text and banner (or make your own!) above for your own First Lines Fridays posts.  Make sure to comment your first lines below so that other people can check them out!

Here goes!

Emma Larsen had been known to cry over animal shelter commercials and ads about starving children, so it came as a shock to remain dry-eyed when her mother died. The ambulance came and went, leaving behind the empty wheelchair and pink empty rooms that suddenly felt even larger without Evangeline’s oversized presence. Emma drifted numbly through the aftermath and the clearing up and the funeral arrangements. She answered condolence cards every night until she could no longer keep her eyes open and, more from force of habit than anything else, rose each morning in the silvery dawn hours to pull weeds in her kitchen garden.

Now scroll down…

 

 

 

 

Keep going….

 

 

 

 

Just a little bit More….

 

 

 

 

And some more….

 

 

 

 

 

 

34947351

 

Bell of Eternity (Celtic Legends #2)

by Martina Boone

Expected Publication: September 25, 2017 by Mayfair Publishing

Love beyond time, an island castle in Cornwall, a cast of delightful characters, dangerous secrets, and a handsome kilt-wearing chef make the perfect recipe for new romance from the award-winning author of Compulsion and Lake of Destiny.

Emma Larsen put her life on hold after the accident that left her famous mother paralyzed and cost a man his life. For four long years, Treave Nancarrow, the deceased man’s son, has often been the only friend Emma had to lean on. But when he suddenly proposes marriage after her mother’s funeral, Emma can’t help being dismayed. She’s already trying to decide between transforming her home cooking hobby into a profession or going back to college. She can’t afford to jump from one commitment to another before she’s had a chance to find out what she really wants. Still, when Treave begs her to accompany him to a wedding at his family’s castle in Cornwall so he can show her how compatible they would be, how can she refuse?

She falls in love with the romantic Cornish coast, a world rich with legends, hauntings, and ancient superstitions—like the one about the ghostly bell that tolls only when a pair of lovers are destined to be together forever. When a tragedy rocks the small community and everyone pitches in to help, though, Treave seems like a different person—one Emma begins to fear. Then, too, there’s Brando MacLaren, the handsome, kilt-wearing Scotsman who shows her the possibility of a love she never dared believe in and makes her feel adventurous and alive. But Brando has his own healing to do. He also has a secret, one he’s keeping from her. Can Emma afford to trust him with her heart? Can she trust either one of the men? An ancient Cornish legend might help guide her choice between them—if she can find the courage to trust her instincts and believe in herself.

A timeless, modern romance set in a magical castle in Cornwall, filled with food, small town warmth, heart, and intrigue. Perfect for fans of Poldark, Nora Roberts, Susanna Kearsley, Sarah Addison Allen, Susan Wiggs, and Debbie Macomber

I LOVED Lake of Destiny so I’m really excited to be reading this. I’m about 40% into the book and so far it’s really good.

Sincerely Karen Jo

One thought on “First Lines Fridays

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s