ARC Review – The Revolution of Birdie Randolph by Brandy Colbert

arcreview2

Hi fellow booklovers! Today, I have my review for THE REVOLUTION OF BIRDIE RANDOLPH by Brandy Colbert. This is the first book I’ve read from this author and I must say, I really enjoyed this one. And that cover… sooo gorgeous.

divider3

The+Revolution+of+Birdie+Randolph

abouthebook2

Published: August 20th 2019

Publisher: by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Genre(s): Young Adult, Contemporary, Realistic Fiction

Format: Hardcover, 336 Pages

purchaselinks

AMAZONBARNES & NOBLEINDIEBOUND 

heartsdivider

synopsis4

Perfect for fans of Nina LaCour and Nicola Yoon comes a novel about first love and family secrets from Stonewall Book Award winner Brandy Colbert.

Dove “Birdie” Randolph works hard to be the perfect daughter and follow the path her parents have laid out for her: She quit playing her beloved soccer, she keeps her nose buried in textbooks, and she’s on track to finish high school at the top of her class. But then Birdie falls hard for Booker, a sweet boy with a troubled past…whom she knows her parents will never approve of.

When her estranged aunt Carlene returns to Chicago and moves into the family’s apartment above their hair salon, Birdie notices the tension building at home. Carlene is sweet, friendly, and open-minded–she’s also spent decades in and out of treatment facilities for addiction. As Birdie becomes closer to both Booker and Carlene, she yearns to spread her wings. But when long-buried secrets rise to the surface, everything she’s known to be true is turned upside down.

addongoodreads2divider4

mythoughts

A Beautiful and Wonderfully Affecting Coming of Age Story
4halfhearts

Lots of HUGS and THANKS to The Novl and Little Brown FYR for my advance reader copy! 

The Revolution of Birdie Randolph by Brandy Colbert is a beautiful and wonderfully affecting coming of age novel that absolutely touched my heart. I really love the emotional depth in this book and the characters are just so charming, likable and real.

This story follows Dove “Birdie” Randolph as she deals with family secrets and drama, frustration over trying to please her overprotective parents, a new romantic relationship with a boy who’s had a difficult past, and her desire to forge her own path and discover what she truly wants in life.

I really love stories that are relatable and realistic that I could easily picture myself as one of the characters. When I picked up this book, I was expecting a fun, addictive, and engaging YA contemporary story with a swoony romance. This novel definitely has all of that, but I got something even better. If this is how Colbert writes her stories – with purpose, sincerity, and an empowering voice, then I can’t wait to read her other books.

The premise is nothing new and a bit predictable at times, but this novel grabbed me from the start and never let go. The storyline is fraught with tension, angst, conflict and some very harrowing and real emotions that really affected me. There’s a plot twist… and I can’t get into it but WOW… just you have to read it to know. I really enjoyed this book and the FEELS are just outstanding. Oh and the diversity representation is just exceptional and I think Colbert has created an amazing story that many readers will be able to relate to.

I think the characters are fascinating and realistic. I really like Birdie. She’s a fantastic heroine and teenage me definitely related with her a lot. I like Birdie’s aunt Carlene even though she’s far from being perfect and has so many issues. I adore Booker. He’s charming, sweet, and makes Birdie happy.  I think they’re really great and so swoony together. The other supporting characters are complex and interesting too, and I think Colbert does such a terrific job making all her characters come off the page.

With a fast-paced and touching storyline, flawed, but realistic characters, and relatable family drama and life issues, The Revolution of Birdie Randolph by Brandy Colbert is an emotionally packed and thought-provoking coming-of-age narrative that had me glued to the pages. I really enjoyed so much of this book and I think it’s is utterly timely and riveting. I’d definitely recommend this book.

I received an advance copy of this book from NOVL and Little, Brown Books for Young Readers in exchange for a fair and honest review. All thoughts and opinions are my own.

90A30894-9098-4C4C-BE8E-04A5074C8007

divider4

abouttheauthor

 

brandycolbert

Brandy Colbert is the award-winning author of Little & Lion, Finding Yvonne, Pointe, and the forthcoming The Revolution of Birdie Randolph (August 20, 2019). Her short fiction and essays have been published in several critically acclaimed anthologies for young people. She is on faculty at Hamline University’s MFA program in writing for children, and lives in Los Angeles.

authorlinks

Website / Goodreads / Twitter / Instagram

divider3

Thanks for stopping by lovelies! Have you read this book or any other ones by Brandy Colbert? What did you think?

As always, take care, happy reading and have a wonderful day!

 

sincerelykjologo

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s